"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and Chapter News

Alpha Omega Alpha names 2017 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Professionalism Award Recipient

2017 Recipients Drs. Richard and Sylvia Cruess

Drs. Richard and Sylvia Cruess, along with their colleagues at McGill University’s Centre for Medical Education, and McGill’s Faculty of Medicine, received the 2017 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Professionalism Award.  Over the past 20 years, the Cruesses, working with, and within, McGill’s Faculty of Medicine have stood at the forefront of medicine’s modern day professionalism movement.

 Not only have the Cruesses been at the forefront of medical professionalism, they are distinguished clinicians (Dick is an orthopedic surgeon, and Sylvia is an endocrinologist), and academic leaders (Dick was Chair of Orthopedics and then Dean of the Medical School at McGill, and Sylvia is Vice-President (Medical) and Director of Professional Pervices, Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal.

If McGill has been their laboratory, the world has been their classroom.  They have delivered keynote addresses and lead faculty development workshops on four continents across North and South America, Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific Rim countries.  They have lectured and instructed at every Canadian medical school, and nearly half of all U.S. medical schools. In short, the Cruesses have been ambassadors to the world for the importance of professionalism in medicine.

Created in 2009, the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Professionalism Award recognizes and honors outstanding programs that model best practices in medical professionalism and education. Up to three awards can be given each year. Award recipients receive $10,000 and are invited as attendees at AΩA’s biennial professionalism think tank, scheduled to be held in Chicago later this year.


Updated on March 5, 2019.