"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and chapter news

2011 meeting of the AΩA board of directors

Roll call

The annual meeting of the board of directors of Alpha Omega Alpha was held in Chicago, Illinois, on September 24, 2011. Present were:

Officers: President Rae-Ellen W. Kavey, MD, MPH; Vice President Donald E. Wilson, MD, MACP; Secretary-Treasurer C. Bruce Alexander, MD.

Members at large: Robert G. Atnip, MD; N. Joseph Espat, MD; Ruth-Marie Fincher, MD, MACP; Eve J. Higginbotham, MD; Douglas S. Paauw, MD; Don W. Powell, MD; Joseph W. Stubbs, MD, FACP.

Councilor directors: Richard B. Gunderman, MD, PhD, Indiana University School of Medicine; Sheryl Pfeil, MD, the Ohio State University College of Medicine; Alan G. Wasserman, MD, George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Student directors: Alicia Alcamo, MD, the Ohio State University College of Medicine; William E. Bynum IV, MD, University of South Carolina School of Medicine; Tonya Cramer, MSIV, Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science; Cason Pierce, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

Medical Organization Director: John Tooker, MD, MBA, American College of Physicians.

Coordinator, Residency Initiatives: Suzann Pershing, MD.

National office staff: Executive Director Richard L. Byyny, MD; Assistant Treasurer William F. Nichols; Managing Editor Debbie Lancaster; Programs Administrator Judy Yee; Membership Administrator Lena Beavers; Controller Barbara Prince.

Absent were: Anne Mancino, MD, councilor director for the University of Arkansas School of Medicine, and Carol A. Aschenbrener, MD, of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

New to the board are: Eve J. Higginbotham, MD, elected to a three-year term as member at large; Alan G. Wasserman, MD, elected to a three-year term as councilor director; Tonya Cramer, MSIV, elected to a three-year term as student director; and Carol A. Aschenbrener, MD, elected to a three-year term as Medical Organization Director.

Retiring from the board are: Cason Pierce, MD; Anne Mancino, MD, Donald E. Wilson, MD.

Renewed for three-year terms are: C. Bruce Alexander, MD; Robert Atnip, MD; Joseph Stubbs, MD.

Constitutional changes

The board voted to approve the following constitutional changes:

  1. Eliminate the office of Vice President
  2. Add the office of President-Elect
  3. Add the office of Immediate Past President.

The relevant changes to the constitution may be seen on AΩA's web site: Article V. Organization and Central Administration.

Dr. Tooker will chair a committee to explore further constitutional changes.


The following members of the board were elected as officers:

  1. Ruth-Marie Fincher, MD, MACP, President
  2. Rae-Ellen W. Kavey, MD, MPH, Immediate Past President
  3. C. Bruce Alexander, MD, President-Elect
  4. Joseph W. Stubbs, MD, FACP, Secretary-Treasurer

Two honorary members were proposed this year. Both were elected to honorary membership for their distinguished contributions to medicine. Profiles of these honorary members will appear in a future issue of The Pharos:

  1. Thomas R. Cech, PhD
  2. Martin George Tauber, MD


Dr. Kavey and Dr. Byyny presented their reports for the year, summarizing the year for AΩA programs, new medical school chapters, chapter visits, fundraising, the membership director and database, communications and public relations, and staffing.

The financial review was presented by Mr. Nichols and Dr. Alexander. A presentation on AΩA's investment program as given by Jennifer Ellison and Diana Lieberman of Bingham Osborn & Scarborough.

A report on The Pharos was presented by Debbie Lancaster.

Dr. Gunderman and past councilor director Dr. Gabriel Virella reported on the 2011 AΩA Councilors Meeting, held on September 22 and 23, just before the board of directors meeting. Drs. Gunderman and Virella chaired the meeting. A report on the meeting will appear in a future issue of The Pharos.

Dr. Pershing presented a report on the Residents Initiative project, which has resulted in the AΩA Postgraduate Award (see our web site for more details: www.alphaomegaalpha.org/postgrad_award.html).

New business

Dr. Byyny discussed the possibility of AΩA support for a leadership development program. A committee chaired by Dr. Tooker will investigate the proposal and possible ways for AΩA to contribute to leadership in medicine.

Dr. Byyny led discussion on communication strategies and public relations outreach to members and the public. A Communications committee was formed, chaired by Dr. Atnip. A PR Committee chaired by Dr. Higginbotham was established.


The minutes of the 2010 board meeting were approved. A final budget was also approved. The 2012 board meeting will be held in San Francisco in October 2012.

Updated on December 14, 2011.