"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and chapter news

AΩA Members Honored at the AAMC

The awards banquet at the AAMC Annual Meeting in San Francisco on November 3, 2012, honored other AΩA members in addition to the four recipients of 2012 Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards. They were:

  • The Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education: Ruth-Marie Fincher, MD, MACP (AΩA, Medical College of Georgia, 1976), Immediate Past President of the AΩA Board of Directors, and Emeritus Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Medicine at the Georgia Health Sciences Medical College of Georgia.
  • Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences: Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD (AΩA, University of Chicago, 1973), the Dr. Robert J. Glaser Distinguished University Professor at Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine.
  • The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award: Chin-To Fong, MD (AΩA, University of Rochester, 2005), associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry and chief of the Pediatric Genetics Division at Golisano Children’s Hospital of the University of Rochester Medical Center.
  • The David E. Rogers Award: Ralph Snyderman, MD (AΩA, SUNY Downstate, 1965), chancellor emeritus at Duke University and James B. Duke Professor of Medicine at Duke University School of Medicine, and director of the Duke Center for Research on Prospective Health Care.

Updated on November 6, 2012.