"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and chapter news

Alpha Omega Alpha Elects New Officers and Directors

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is pleased to announce the election of its new officers and directors for the 2015/2016 year.


President–Robert G. Atnip, MD, FACS, RPVI
Dr. Atnip (AΩA, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine, 1976) begins his term as President of the Board. He has served on the Board since 2006, first as a Councilor Director and most recently as a Member at Large. Dr. Atnip has been the Councilor at the Eta Pennsylvania Chapter at the Pennsylvania State University Milton S. Hershey Medical Center since 2002 and is a Professor of Surgery and Radiology. He is ABS certified in surgery, vascular surgery, and surgical critical care. His specialty is vascular surgery, vascular ultrasound, wound care, and hyperbaric medicine. | Penn State Bio

Immediate Past President–Douglas S. Paauw, MD, MACP
Dr. Paauw (AΩA, University of Michigan, 1983) completed his term as the President of the Board with this year’s meeting. He joined the Board in 2005 as a Councilor Director for the University of Washington. Dr. Paauw has been Councilor at the Alpha Washington Chapter at the University of Washington since 1992. He is Director of Medicine Student Programs, a Professor of Medicine, and the Rathmann Family Foundation Endowed Chair in Patient-Centered Clinical Education. Dr. Paauw has received many distinguished teaching awards, including the AΩA Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award in 2001. Dr. Paauw is also co-chair on the AΩA professionalism committee. His specialty is internal medicine. | UW Medicine Bio

President Elect–Joseph W. Stubbs MD, MACP
Dr. Stubbs (AΩA, Emory University, 1978) joined the Board in 2008 as a Member at Large. In 2011, he became Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. Stubbs is in private practice in Albany, Georgia. He is past president of the ACP (2009-2010) and currently the medical director of South Georgia ACO. His specialty is internal medicine/geriatrics.| Albany Internal Medicine Bio

Secretary Treasurer–Wiley "Chip" Souba, MD, ScD, MBA
Dr. Souba (AΩA, University of Texas Medical School at Houston, 1978) joined our Board as a Member at Large in 2013. He is taking over the role of Secretary-Treasurer from Dr. Stubbs. Dr. Souba has most recently served as Vice-President for Health Affairs and Dean of the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, where he maintains a faculty appointment as Professor in the Department of Surgery. He is nationally known for his innovative approaches to developing leaders and leadership. His specialty is surgical oncology. | Dartmouth Bio


Councilor Director—Regina Gandour-Edwards, MD
Dr. Gandour-Edwards (AΩA, University of California, Davis, 1984) is joining the Board as a Councilor Director. She has served as the Councilor to the Eta California Chapter at University of California, Davis since 2011. Dr. Gandour-Edwards began her career as a public health nurse with a BSN from Georgetown University. She received an MS in Nursing from UCSF and a MHS from UC Davis and taught community nursing at CSU Hayward. She was a family nurse practitioner, which inspired her to become a physician. She graduated from UC Davis School of Medicine in 1985 and continued at UC Davis for her residency training in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology. She has been a faculty member, educator and active chapter member since 1990. She is currently the Vice Chair of Education at the UC Davis Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine. She is leader of the Cancer Center Biorepository and clinical laboratory director for the Jackson Laboratories. Her primary interests include gardening and world travel. Her specialty is surgical pathology. | UC Davis Bio

Student Director—Second Lieutenant Jeremy Bolin, MSIV
Second Lieutenant Bolin (AΩA, Uniformed Services University, 2015) is joining the Board as a Student Director. Mr. Bolin is beginning his final year at the Uniformed Services University and serving as the President of his Chapter. He hopes to match into a general surgery residency program later this year. He served over 9 years as an active duty Air Force engineering officer with a background in mechanical engineering. He is married and has a son.

Return to the Board of Directors page

Last updated: 10/21/2015

Updated on November 16, 2015.