"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and Chapter News

2018 Medical Student Service Leadership Project Award winners

Alpha Omega Alpha is committed to preparing future leaders in medicine and health care. Leadership is about making a positive difference, and is learned through education, observation, and experience, and working with leader mentors. Service leadership may develop an excellent opportunity for students to develop as servant leaders. The most effective leaders are well grounded in and committed to positive professional values.

AΩA developed this award to support leadership development for medical students through mentoring, observation, and service learning.

Amount of the award: $5000 for the first year, $3000 for the second year, $1000 for the third year

The winners of this year's award are:


The Baylor College of Medicine Refugee Health Initiative: Leadership Development Through Service

  • Student leader Geneva White (AΩA, Baylor College of Medicine, 2017)
  • Student leader Grace Gannon
  • Student leader Elizabeth Adams
  • Student leader Abigail Garbarino (AΩA, Baylor College of Medicine, 2017
  • Mentor leader Jill D'Souza, MD (AΩA, Northwestern University, Resident, 2017)
  • Mentor Daniel Chelius, MD (AΩA, Baylor College of Medicine, 2004)
  • Mentor Ellis Arjmand, MD
  • Mentor Ellen Friedman, MD (AΩA, Baylor College of Medicine, Faculty, 2017)
  • Mentor Larry Hollier, MPH (AΩA, Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans, 1967)
  • Mentor Jean Raphael, MD
  • Mentor Teri Turner, MD (AΩA, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, 1989)


Building A Leadership Consortium Across Chicagoland Free Clinics

  • Student leader Stephanie Bi
  • Student leader Annie Zhang
  • Student leader Phillip Hsu
  • Mentor Lucas Matern (AΩA, University of Chicago, 2018)
  • Mentor Karen E. Kim, MD (AΩA, University of Chicago, Faculty, 2016)
  • Mentor James Woodruff, MD (AΩA, University of Chicago, Resident, 1996)


Med Educational Consulting Group (Med E.C.G.)

  • Student leader David Portney
  • Student leader Paige VonAchen
  • Student leader Taylor Standiford
  • Student leader Daniel Semaan
  • Student leader Matt Carey
  • Mentor David Fessell, MD
  • Mentor Kate Klein, MD, FACR
  • Mentor Michael Englesbe, MD, FACS (AΩA, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, 1997)

Updated on April 8, 2020.