"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and Chapter News

Alpha Omega Alpha announces 2019 Fellow in Leadership Award recipients

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has announced the recipients of its 2019 Alpha Omega Alpha Fellow in Leadership Award. The three fellows were selected from a pool of highly qualified candidates from medical schools and institutions across the country. The three fellows are:

Deborah DeWaay, MD
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, University of South Florida

Deborah DeWaay, MD (AΩA, Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine, 2011) is Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of South Florida (USF) Morsani College of Medicine. She completed her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science with honors from Grinnell College in 1998, and her M.D. with distinction in research from the University of Iowa in 2005. She completed a residency in Internal Medicine, in 2008, and chief year in Internal Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) in 2009. Her specialty is general internal medicine with a focus in hospital medicine. She has served as the Associate Vice-Chair of Education for the Department of Medicine at MUSC. Dr. DeWaay has won numerous teaching awards including MUSC Department of Medicine Excellence in Teaching Award and the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award. She is a member of both the Gold Humanism in Medicine and AΩA honor societies. Since 2016, she has served as the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education at USF. In this role, Dr. DeWaay has been focusing on streamlining the assessment and evaluation system, creating a state-of-the-art curriculum map and implementing the AAMC's Entrustable Professional Activities.

Jeffrey C. McClean, MD
Program Director for the USAF neurology training program

Jeffrey C. McClean, MD (AΩA, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine, 2009), is Program Director for the USAF neurology training program. He also serves as the Chief of the Medical Staff for one of the Air Force's largest Medical Groups at the largest Department of Defense hospital. Finally, as the Neurology Consultant to the US Air Force Surgeon General, he is the lead for over 40 neurologists (and neurologists in training) across the country and overseas. He has also been selected for key leadership roles with AAN. First, as Vice-Chair of the AAN's Leadership Development Committee and second, was also recently appointed Chair of the AAN's new Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Healthcare Disparities (EDID) Joint Coordinating Council

Roy Strowd, MD
Assistant Professor at Wake Forest School of Medicine

Roy Strowd, MD (AΩA, Wake Forest School of Medicine, 2008), is an Assistant Professor at Wake Forest School of Medicine. He serves as Director of Health Professions Education Institute which supports faculty development programs for medical educators at Wake Forest. He received his undergraduate degree at Duke University, attended medical school, neurology residency, and completed chief residency at Wake Forest School of Medicine. He pursued a clinical and research fellowship in neuro-oncology at Johns Hopkins where he also obtained a Master's of Education in the Health Professions. He is currently a practicing neurologist, neuro-oncologist, and clinician-educator at the Wake Forest School of Medicine. Dr Strowd serves as Co-Director for the Tuberous Sclerosis Clinic at Wake Forest and has clinical leadership roles in our Brain Tumor Program. He is Co-PI of an NIH-funded R21 and PI/Co-PI of two currently funded institutional or foundation grants to evaluate novel therapeutics and quality of life interventions in neuro-oncology.

The fellows will each receive $25,000 to be used fund their respective leadership development projects. They will also receive coaching and mentorship from nationally renowned leaders in medicine to help them exemplify the qualities of leading from within, AΩA’s professional values, and the concepts of servant leadership.

Previous fellows have attributed this award to preparing them for career advancements, taking on more responsibility, and better advocating for their needs.

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (AΩA)
Since its founding in 1902, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has recognized and advocated for excellence in scholarship, demonstrated professionalism, and the growth of physician leadership in the profession of medicine. Through 132 active Chapters in the United States and Lebanon, more than 3,900 new members are inducted into the society each year. More than 55 Nobel Prize winners are members of Alpha Omega Alpha, as well as 12 of the 20 United States Surgeons General, including Dr. Vivek Murthy. Nearly 75% of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AΩA. Alpha Omega Alpha annually grants more than $1.75 million in programs and awards to impact medical students, residents, teachers, and community physicians.

Updated on March 31, 2021.