"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and Chapter News

Alpha Omega Alpha announces 2020 Fellow in Leadership Award recipients

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has announced the recipients of its 2020 Alpha Omega Alpha Fellow in Leadership Award. The three fellows were selected from a pool of highly qualified candidates from medical schools and institutions across the country. The three fellows are:

Alexandra (Aleca) Clark, MD—Division Chief for General Pediatrics at Loma Linda University Children's Hospital in Southern California; manages over 70 pediatric and med-peds physicians serving at 4 hospitals and 8 clinics spanning the largest combined counties in California; served the LLSOM as an associate clerkship director and developed the pediatric primary track of the residency program for which she served as the Program Director for the first 4 years; advocate for resident and faculty well-being and continues to be part of the Program leadership and mentoring program; Co-Chairs the Children's Hospital committee that is working on the move into their new towers in May of 2021.

Fassil Mesfin, MD —Tenured Associate Professor at the University of Missouri School of Medicine; Chair of admission committee at MU School of Medicine; medical degree and doctorate of philosophy degree from Albany Medical College; residency training in Neurosurgery at Albany Medical Center hospital and fellowship training in neurosurgical oncology at The University of Texas at MD Anderson Cancer Center; Doctoral thesis focused on anti-cancer drug design and development, which he has four patents for novel agents with anti-breast cancer and anti- brain tumor activities; active clinical research focused on designing diagnostic models for spinal cord injury patients; Federation of International Education in Neurosurgery (FIENS) which trains neurosurgical residents in developing countries.

Deep Shah, M.D., M.Sc.—Board-certified primary care physician at Gwinnett Clinic and adjunct clinical faculty at Emory University School of Medicine; Vice President and also a full-time clinician; expertise in state and national health policy, clinical operations, and health care finance; Board of Directors of Georgians for a Healthy Future; American College of Physicians; Physician leader and advocate of high-value primary care as the foundation of good health.

The fellows will each receive $25,000 to be used fund their respective leadership development projects. They will also receive coaching and mentorship from nationally renowned leaders in medicine to help them exemplify the qualities of leading from within, AΩA’s professional values, and the concepts of servant leadership.

Previous fellows have attributed this award to preparing them for career advancements, taking on more responsibility, and better advocating for their needs.

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (AΩA)
Since its founding in 1902, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has recognized and advocated for excellence in scholarship, demonstrated professionalism, and the growth of physician leadership in the profession of medicine. Through 132 active Chapters in the United States and Lebanon, more than 3,900 new members are inducted into the society each year. More than 55 Nobel Prize winners are members of Alpha Omega Alpha, as well as 12 of the 20 United States Surgeons General, including Dr. Vivek Murthy. Nearly 75% of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AΩA. Alpha Omega Alpha annually grants more than $1.75 million in programs and awards to impact medical students, residents, teachers, and community physicians.

Updated on June 17, 2021.