## **National and Chapter news**

# $A\Omega A$ announces 2019 recipients of *The Pharos* Poetry Award, Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Award and $A\Omega A$ Fellows in Leadership

#### **The Pharos Poetry Awards**

 $A\Omega A$  recently announced the winners of its annual Pharos Poetry Awards. The 2019 winners are:

First place (tie) – "Names," by Kellie Mitchell, University of Alabama School of Medicine, and "Hereafter," by Alex Sievert, Oregon Health & Science University;

**Third place** – "Healers," by **Grace Ferri**, Boston University School of Medicine.

The winners were selected from a pool of 138 submissions. Their poems will be published in the Summer issue of *The Pharos*.

The Pharos Poetry Award is designed to encourage medical students to write meaningful poetry that is related to health or medicine. Authors must be enrolled in medical schools with an active A $\Omega$ A Chapter or Association. A committee of the Editorial Board of *The Pharos* reviews the poems and selects the winners.

### **Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Awards**

 $A\Omega A$  recently announced the winners of its annual Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Awards. The 2019 winners are:

**First place** – "The Price of Pills: A Brief History of the Kefauver-Harris Amendment," by **Reid Wilkening**, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine;

**Second place** – "The Louse Manifesto," by **Prisca Alilio**, University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine;

**Third place** – "Don Ze Pill," by **Rebecca Grossman-Kahn**, University of Michigan Medical School.

The winners were selected from a pool of 51 submissions. Their essays will be published in the Autumn issue of *The Pharos*.

The Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Awards, named after Dr. Helen Glaser who served for 30 years as the assistant editor and then as managing editor of *The Pharos*, are designed to encourage medical students to write scholarly essays or creative narratives that are related and relevant to medicine. Authors must be enrolled in medical schools with an active  $A\Omega A$  Chapter or Association.

#### 2019 AΩA Fellows in Leadership

 $A\Omega A$  recently announced its sixth cohort of  $A\Omega A$  Fellows in Leadership. The 2019 Fellows are:

**Deborah DeWaay, MD** (AΩA, Medical University of South Carolina, 2011, Faculty), Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, University of South Florida;

Jeffrey McClean, MD (AΩA, Uniformed Services University, 2009, Resident), Program Director Neurology Residency; Medical Director, Neurodiagnostic Technician Program; Site Director, Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center; Traumatic Brain Injury Consultant to the United States Air Force Surgeon General; Neurology Consultant to the U.S. Air Force Surgeon General; and Chief of the Medical Staff, Wilford Hall Medical Center and San Antonio Military Medical Center; and

Roy Strowd, MD (A $\Omega$ A, Wake Forest School of Medicine, 2008), Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Section on Hematology and Oncology, and Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, Wake Forest School of Medicine; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine; Assistant Professor, Translational Sciences Institute, Wake Forest School of Medicine; and Adjunct Faculty Advisor, Johns Hopkins School of Education, Master of Education in Health Professions Program.

The  $A\Omega A$  Fellow in Leadership is designed to support the development of outstanding mid-career physician leaders. Leadership in medicine, medical education, and health care is more complex in the 21st century than ever before. The medical profession and the country are in need of leadership that is inspiring, insightful, engaging, and humble; leadership that both understands and represents the needs of patients, physicians, medical educators, and trainees. Because of their unique knowledge of the practice of medicine and understanding of medicine's core professional values, physicians are ideally suited to serve as leaders in this period of change.

The 2019 Fellows will spend one year honing their leadership skills and expanding their knowledge base in the areas of leading from within and servant leadership.