National and Chapter news

AΩA announces recipients of Award for Excellence in Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Medical Education and Patient Care

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is proud to announce the recipients of its Award for Excellence in Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Medical Education and Patient Care.

Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

The two 2020 award recipents are:

Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine (HWCOM) for its innovative admissions policies and unique curriculum that incorporates service learning to foster social accountability, especially with underserved South Florida communities. HWCOM is committed to diversity in its student body and faculty, as well as to diversity in medical practitioners of tomorrow. Through this commitment they have initiated a number of pipeline programs including: the Florida Science Training and Research Fellowship Program, Doctors of Tomorrow, and the Premedical Undergraduate



Mentoring Program.

University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine (MCOM) has created a curricular thread integrated into all four years of training called Humanism in Action. This curriculum involves teaching students the communication skills necessary to elicit the values of their patients and then integrate those values into the medical plan for the patient. The students understanding of their patients' values and culture improves the students' ability to respect and reflect their patients' values and culture in the medical care they are providing.

For more information on these awards visit https://www. alphaomegaalpha.org/diversity_award.html#gsc.tab=o.

The deadline for 2021 award submission is September 28, 2021.

2020 A ΩA Honor Medical Society Professionalism Award recipients named

Recognizing best practices in medical professionalism education, the 2020 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Professionalism Awards have been awarded to the **American University of Beirut Faculty of Medicine** and **Baylor College of Medicine**.



American University of Beirut Faculty of Medicine is being recognized for its The Salim El-Hoss Bioethics and Professionalism Program (SHBPP), the first targeted initiative in the Arab world that seeks to educate, research, and champion issues related to medical professionalism, medical education, bedside clinical ethics, medical humanism, biomedical ethics, and bioethics in conflict areas. SHBPP is an interdisciplinary resource for faculty, students, health care providers and policy makers who are involved in bioethics education, research, and consultation in Lebanon and the region.



Baylor College of Medicine is recognized for its Center for Professionalism in Medicine, created and charged with elevating and supporting Professionalism throughout Baylor College of Medicine, and developing a predictable, consistent, and fair approach to address lapses in professionalism. The Center's philosophy is predicated on the belief that professionalism is one of the most compelling attributes in health care and efforts to instill professionalism throughout the community facilitate the establishment of trust and respect that are at the core of all therapeutic relationships.

For more information on these awards visit https://www. alphaomegaalpha.org/professionalism_award.html#gsc.tab=o.

The deadline for 2021 award submission is October 12, 2021.