Saurabh Sinha

Class of 2016, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Electroencephalographic Studies of Changes in Dorsal Anterior Cingulate Cortex Function in Addiction Treated with Repetitive Transcranial Magentic Stimulation

Mentor Sameer A. Sheth, MD, PhD

Councilor Geza Kiss, MD

Jacqueline Tin

Class of 2017, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine

The relationship between cerebrovascular reactivity and cognitive dysfunction in adult patients with sickle cell anemia

Mentors Jason Lazar, MD; Louis Salciccioli, MD

Councilor Douglas R. Lazzaro, MD

Timothy Tiutan

Class of 2016, University of Arizona College of Medicine

Combined Therapy Targeting Anti-Apoptotic BCL2 and MCL1 Proteins In High-Risk Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma

Mentor Jonathan Schatz, MD

Councilor Joseph S. Alpert, MD

Amy Ton

Class of 2018, University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine

Neuronal regulation of heterotopic ossification in FOP using human iPS cells

Mentor Edward Hsiao, MD, PhD

Councilor Lee Atkinson-McEvoy, MD

Brian Tsui

Class of 2017, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

PSMA Targeted Photodynamic Therapy for Prostate Cancer

Mentor James Basilion, PhD

Councilor James E. Arnold, MD

Adam Verhoef

Class of 2018, University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine

Molecular Methods for Diagnosing Asymptomatic Leishmaniasis

Mentors Mary Wilson, PhD; Selma Jeronimo, MD, PhD

Councilor Christopher Cooper, MD

Yu Wang

Class of 2016, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Healthcare Utilization and Awareness of Eye Disease by Persons with Diabetes Mellitus in Medicine and Ophthalmology Clinics

Mentor Neil M. Bressler, MD

Councilor Charles W. Flexner, MD

Kaeli Yuen

Class of 2018, Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

Offline Testing of an Automated Clinical Decision Support (CDS) System for Patients with Multiple Complex Chronic Conditions

Mentor Mary K. Goldstein, MD

Councilor Eric Hsieh, MD

Andrew Zhang

Class of 2018, University of Minnesota Medical School

The Role of Cell to Extracellular Matrix Interactions in a Spatiotemporal 3D Environment for Endothelial Cell Differentiation of Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells

Mentor Jianyi Jay Zhang, MD, PhD

Councilor Charles Billington, MD

2015 Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Awards

The thirty-third annual Alpha Omega Alpha Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Awards were made in May. This year's winners are:

First prize: "Shakespeare's Macbeth: An Insight into Politics, Religion, and the King's Touch in Reformation England," by Fleta Bray, Class of 2016 at the University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine.

Second prize: "Art in a Time of Chronic Illness: the Effects of Systemic Sclerosis as Seen through the Works of Paul Klee," by Grace Prince, Class of 2015 at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

Third prize: "In an Instant," by Maya Armstrong, Class of 2018 at the Ohio State University College of Medicine.

Honorable mention: "From Medical Student to Midwife: The Day I Delivered My Daughter on Our Bedroom Floor," by Kevin Lowder, Class of 2016 at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine.

Honorable mention: "Breaking the Oath: Why Physicians Torture," by Taylor Brooks, Class of 2018 at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine.

Winning essays will be published in future issues of *The Pharos*.

2015 *Pharos* Poetry Competition winners

The *Pharos* Poetry Competition awards were made in April. This year's winners are:

First Prize: "Confessions," by Jennifer Hu, Class of 2018 at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry.

Second Prize: "Kyrie," by Alyse Marie Carlson, Class of 2016 at the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine.

Third Prize: "Sestina for a Father," by Ting Gou, Class of 2017 at the University of Michigan Medical School.

Honorable mention: "No Words," by Brittney Jones, Class of 2015 at Howard University College of Medicine.

Honorable mention: "Patient Belongings," by Michael Yee, Class of 2015 at University of Michigan Medical School.

Honorable mention: "A Forensic Pathologist's Villanelle" by Catherine Perez, Class of 2018 at the University of Illinois College of Medicine.

Honorable mention: "The Cough," by Tendo Kironde, Class of 2015 at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Winning poems will be published in future issues of *The Pharos*.