2011 Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Awards

The twenty-ninth annual Alpha Omega Alpha Helen H. Glaser Student Essay awards were made in April. This year's winners are:

First prize, \$2000: Courtney Pendleton of the Class of 2012 at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine for her essay, "My life, my soul, my body I owe to you and God': Harvey Cushing and the Patient-Physician Relationship as Seen through Written Correspondence."

Second prize, \$750: Allison Hinko of the Class of 2011 at the University of Toledo College of Medicine for her essay, "The AMA and Health Care Reform."

Third prize, \$500: Adam Mikolajczk of the Class of 2011 at the University of Chicago Division of the Biological Sciences, The Pritzker School of Medicine for his essay, "'You're Sick, We're Quick': Retail Clinics and Their Implications for the Future of the American Health Care System."

Honorable mentions, \$250 each: Jonathan Ryan Barry of the Class of 2013 at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine for his essay, "MD/MPH 'Dualies': The Case for Integrating Public Health and Medical Education and the Innovative Competition to Align Existing Schools to Meet this Objective"; Daniel Liebowitz of the Class of 2014 at the University of Vermont College of Medicine for his essay, "Carlos Finlay, Walter Reed, and the Politics of Imperialism in Early Tropical Medicine"; Heather Relyea Ashley of the Class of 2011 at the University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine for

her essay, "Ulcers in Papua New Guinea: A Contemplation on Fairness"; Charles Rutter of the Class of 2011 at the University of Maryland School of Medicine for his essay, "Dollars and Cents of Electronic Medical Records: The Impact of EMR on Billing, Coding, and Physician Reimbursement."

Winning essays will be published in future issues of $\it The Pharos$.

2011 *Pharos* Poetry Competition winners

The fifth annual *Pharos* Poetry Competition awards were made in April. This year's winners are:

First prize, \$500: Sarah Leeper of the Class of 2012 at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University for her poem, "Breaking Bad News."

Second prize, \$250: Emily Silverman of the Class of 2014 at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine for her poem, "Anatomy."

Third prize, \$100: Angela Jiang of the Class of 2014 Ohio State University College of Medicine for her poem, "A Reminder."

Honorable mentions, \$75 each: Sarah Rapp of the Class of 2012 at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston for her poem, "First Chair," and Krishna Sury of the Class of 2013 at the State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine for her poem, "Broken."

Winning poems will be published in future issues of *The Pharos*.

