

The Alpha Omega Alpha (A Ω A) Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards were established by the A Ω A Honor Medical Society in partnership with the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) in 1988 to provide national recognition to medical school faculty who have distinguished themselves in medical student education.

The award annually recognizes four faculty members -basic science and preclinical and clinical disciplines- at LCME-accredited medical schools.

The recipients are recognized at the annual AAMC Awards Dinner.

The Award

Recipients each receive a \$10,000 award. Award recipients are selected by a meritorious committee composed of the previous year's award recipients and two prior Distinguished Teachers.

Each recipient's nominating institution will receive \$2,500 for teaching activities. If a school has an A Ω A Chapter, \$1,000 will be awarded to the Chapter.

Recipients' travel expenses related to attendance at the AAMC Awards Dinner will be reimbursed by $A\Omega A$.

Eligibility

All faculty members at LCME-accredited medical schools.

Medical schools whose nominee received a Distinguished Teacher Award will not be eligible to submit another nominee for three subsequent years.

Deadline

Each nominee's application, bibliography, and curriculum vitae must be submitted by Friday, April 7, 2023, to:

Sandra Gordon Association of American Medical Colleges 655 K Street NW, Ste 100 Washington, DC 20001-2339 Email address: <u>sgordon@aamc.org</u>

For more information visit the AAMC's website at: <u>https://www.aamc.org/what-we-do/aamc-awards/aoa-glaser-distinguished-teacher</u>

Last updated 9/1/22