National and Chapter news

2022 AΩA Fellows in Leadership

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is pleased to announce its 2022 cohort of A Ω A Fellows in Leadership.



Nasia Safdar, MD, PhD ($A\Omega A$, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, 2021, Faculty), is Professor of Infectious Diseases, Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the William S. Middleton VA Hospital, and the Associate Dean for Clinical Trials at the University of Wisconsin (UW) School of Medicine and Public

Health. She is board certified in infectious diseases, and has served in a variety of leadership roles within UW and UW Health. She served as medical director for infection control during the COVID-19 pandemic where she led pandemic preparedness for UW Health.

Her research focus is to reduce health care-associated infections by identifying, testing, and implementing promising interventions. In her role as Associate Dean, she aims to expand the depth and breadth of UW's clinical trial portfolio to improve health outcomes.

She is a fellow of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program, recipient of the 2018 NIH Director's New Innovator Award and was awarded a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2017 by the Obama administration for her research in health care-associated infections.

Her leadership project will develop a strategic plan for increasing clinical research capacity in medical schools and health systems. Her mentors are Drs. David Andes (A Ω A, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, 2022, Faculty), William A. Craig Professor, Departments of Medicine and Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and Head, Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Wisconsin; Robert Golden (A Ω A, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, 2016, Faculty), Dean, School of Medicine and Public Health and Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs, UW-Madison; and Alan Kaplan, CEO UW Health.



Chad R. Stickrath, MD, FACP (A Ω A, University of Colorado School of Medicine, 2016, Faculty), is an Associate Professor of Medicine, and Assistant Dean for Medical Education at the University of Colorado School of Medicine (UCSOM). Dr. Stickrath graduated with honors in Biology from The Ohio State University and was awarded his MD de-

gree from the Medical College of Ohio at Toledo. He completed his Internal Medicine residency, and was chief resident at the University of Colorado Denver.

From 2014 to 2021, as the Assistant Dean for Education at the Colorado Springs branch, Stickrath led the development and implementation of an innovative longitudinal integrated clerkship model for the core clinical year, and the addition and training of approximately 200 new faculty preceptors.

Stickrath helped lead a major curriculum redesign for the UCSOM and subsequently transitioned into the role of Assistant Dean for Medical Education, Post-Clerkship Curriculum where he is leading the development and implementation of a novel post-clerkship curriculum aimed at helping students deepen their knowledge and skills as well-rounded physicians-in-training; choose and prepare for their residency; and enhance their ability to positively transform the health of their future community beyond their direct clinical practice. This new curriculum will include required leadership outcomes and competencies for students.

Stickrath also serves as the Co-director for the UCSOM's Teaching Scholars Program, which teaches local rising medical education leaders about curriculum development and educational scholarship. He is a member of the University of Colorado's Academy of Medical Educators, was formerly the Chair for the Colorado American College of Physicians' Council for Early Career Physicians, and a member of the Society of General Internal Medicine's Education Committee.

He is a recipient of the American College of Physicians Outstanding Young Physician in Colorado Award and the University of Colorado Academy of Medical Educators' Educational Research and Scholarship Award.

His mentors include Dr. David Hirsh, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education, Harvard Medical School; Dr. Jay MacGregor, (A Ω A, University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 2020, Resident), 2021 AOA Fellow in Leadership, Deputy Chief of Staff, VA Eastern Colorado Healthcare System; and Dr. Shanta Zimmer (A Ω A, Emory University School of Medicine, 2000, Resident), Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion, and Senior Associate Dean of Medical Education, University of Colorado School of Medicine.

Stickrath's leadership project involves implementing a required flexible, individualized leadership curriculum for medical students to complete during their post-clerkship phase of medical school.



Chad Vercio, MD (A Ω A, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, 2022, Faculty), attended Loma Linda University School of Medicine where he also completed his residency in Internal Medicine and Pediatrics in 2009. He has held a variety of educational roles in the Loma Linda Department of Pediatrics including Associate Clerkship Director, Associate

Program Director of the Pediatric Residency Program and Director for the Pediatric Primary Care Track. He is also the Chair of the Pediatric Department at Riverside University Health System which is a safety net hospital for Riverside County, California. He practices both inpatient and outpatient pediatrics and is also a primary physician for intellectually disabled adults.

His leadership project involves professional identity formation to better prepare residents as future physician leaders. His mentors are Alexandra Clark, MD (AΩA, Albany Medical College, 1999), 2021 AΩA Fellow in Leadership, Division Chief, General Division Chief, General Pediatrics; Loma Linda University Children's Health, and Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Loma Linda University School of Medicine; Daniel Giang, MD (AΩA, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, 1999, Faculty), Vice President and Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Loma Linda University Health, Professor of Neurology, Loma Linda University School of Medicine; and Tamara Thomas, MD (AQA, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, 2003, Alumnus), Dean, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, Professor of Emergency Medicine, Loma Linda University School of Medicine and Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, Loma Linda University Health.

The award

The Fellows will each receive \$30,000 to be used to fund their respective leadership development projects. They will also receive coaching and mentorship from nationally renowned leaders in medicine to help them exemplify the qualities of leading from within, professionalism in medicine, and the concept of servant leadership.

This is the ninth cohort of A Ω A Fellows in Leadership, bringing the total number of A Ω A Leadership Fellows to 27. For more information visit the A Ω A website at www. alphaomegaalpha.org.