AΩA Executive Director succession plan

Steven A. Wartman, MD, PhD, MACP

uided by the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (A Ω A) Succession Policy for leadership transition, the A Ω A Board of Directors, which has the responsibility to choose the new Executive Director, approved a detailed process for the recruitment of a new leader. Key points include: the formation of the Search Committee chaired by Lynn M. Cleary, MD, $(A\Omega A)$, The Ohio State University College of Medicine, 1978), the Immediate Past President; a communications plan featuring a wide-ranging call for nominations and self-nominations; and a timeline and interview process.

Of note, the Board made the decision to separate the Executive Director from the Editorship of *The Pharos* for two reasons: To promote editorial independence

and to allow the Executive Director to focus exclusively on running the organization. Richard L. Byyny, MD, FACP (A Ω A, Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California, 1964), has agreed to continue to serve as the editor of *The Pharos* until a new editor is eventually named and Dee Martinez will continue as its Managing Editor.

It is anticipated the search will be concluded prior to the Annual Board of Directors meeting in October, and the new individual will start either at the conclusion of that meeting or shortly thereafter.

To ensure continuity, Dr. Byyny will assist in the on-boarding process, and Dee Martinez will continue in her position as Chief of Staff.

Search Committee



Lynn M. Cleary, MD, Chair (AΩA, The Ohio State University College of Medicine, 1978)



Billy R. Ballard, DDS,MD Olivia Campbell, MD (AΩA, Meharry School of Medicine, 1995, Alumnus)



(AΩA, East Carolina **Brody School of** Medicine, 2021)



Joseph J. Fins, MD (AΩA, Weill Cornell Medical College, 2011, Faculty)



Susan W. Lane, MD, FACP (AΩA,Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University, 2011, Faculty)



Jabre Millon, MD (AΩA, Kerkorian School of Medicine at University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2022)



Ron R. Robinson, MD (AΩA, University of Texas McGovern Medical School, 1993)



Jennifer Schlener, Chief of Staff, Association of American Medical Colleges