National and Chapter news

2023 AΩA Fellows in Leadership

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is pleased to announce its 2023 cohort of A Ω A Fellows in Leadership.



Christine C. Jensen, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCRS

Dr. Jensen (AΩA, University of Washington School of Medicine, 2010, Resident), is the Chief of Staff and Medical Director of Surgical Services at Mercy Hospital, part of Allina Health in the Minneapolis, Minnesota metropolitan area. She is also an Adjunct Associate Profes-

sor in the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery at the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Jensen is active in numerous committees and initiatives as part of medical staff leadership at Allina Health. She participates in the training of five colorectal surgery fellows each year and is the Research Director for the Division of Colorectal Surgery at the University of Minnesota. She is on the Editorial Board of the *Diseases of the Colon and Rectum*.

Dr. Jensen's Fellow in Leadership experiential project focuses on optimizing bidirectional communication between medical staff and administration. Her mentors are Jay MacGregor, MD, MBA (A Ω A, University of North Dakota School of Medicine, 2010, Resident) and former A Ω A Fellow in Leadership, Ronald Robinson, MD, MBA, MPH (A Ω A, University of Texas McGovern Medical School, 1993) and former A Ω A Fellow in Leadership, and Diane Magrane, MD (A Ω A, Drexel University College of Medicine, 2017).



Mary Killackey, MD

Dr. Killackey, is the Robert and Viola Lobrano Professor and Chair of Surgery, and Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics at Tulane University School of Medicine. She was appointed Chair of Surgery in May 2016, and since that time has exponentially grown the department.

Dr. Killackey received her undergraduate and medical degrees from Columbia University. She completed her

General Surgery residency at the University of Rochester, Strong Memorial, and subsequently completed the Abdominal Organ Transplant Fellowship at the Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City.

She was recruited to New Orleans in 2006 to join the team of abdominal transplant surgeons and by 2009 was named the Director of the Pediatric and Adult Kidney Transplant program. She also assumed the Directorship of Pediatric Kidney Transplant at the Children's Hospital of New Orleans.

In recognition of her leadership, she was appointed Chair of the Department of Surgery in 2016, which she has lead for the last seven years. Shortly there afterward, she was accepted into the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) fellowship in 2017. What began as her institutional project within ELAM has evolved into the fully integrated Professionalism Program at the Tulane School of Medicine, which she continues to oversee and serve as the Physician Lead.

Dr. Killackey's passion is promoting a thriving work environment which prioritizes professionalism and allows her the opportunity to facilitate the careers of her faculty, trainees and students. In 2017, she was inducted into $A\Omega A$, and in 2019, elected into the Gold Humanism Society.

She is active in UNOS (United Network for Organ Sharing) and its Membership and Professional Standards committee. She is deeply committed to fostering the careers and leadership skill building of women leaders and is grateful for the opportunity to bring these efforts to the national stage through the Women's Subcommittee of the Society of Surgical Chairs and the American College of Surgeons (ACS). She currently serves as the President of the Louisiana Chapter of the ACS. Dr. Killackey's A Ω A Fellow in Leadership project will focus on defining trust-building behaviors to allow for a successful integration of the Tulane School of Medicine faculty, within a new health system. Successful creation of a high-performing academic medical center requires proactively building relationships in order to work together to reach a shared vision. This scenario is ever increasing in American health care and this is an opportunity to model a successful outcome.

Kristina H. Petersen, PhD



Dr. Petersen (A Ω A, New York Medical College, 2019, Faculty) is an Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at New York Medical College. Her scholarly work includes manuscripts and book chapters on medical education innovations, inclusive instruction, disability curriculum, and supporting learners with disabilities. She co-authored a chapter in the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Global

Public Health that provides a framework for dismantling barriers to increase access and support the inclusion of physicians with disabilities.

Dr. Petersen and her team are implementing a longitudinal disability curriculum that aims to provide education to learners and physicians by ameliorating health disparities. In 2023, she co-authored a chapter intended for use within disabilities curriculum, *Cases on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for the Health Professions Educator.*

In 2022, Dr. Petersen received an award for Excellence in Scholarly Work in Disability Inclusion from the Coalition for Disability Access in Health Science Education, she received the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teaching Award.

Dr. Petersen's leadership project involves the creation of a holistic evaluation methodology that applies machine learning techniques to attempt to predict the success of medical students. The method will include markers of professionalism, communication, academic performance, and service. The goal is to create a risk score system to support undergraduate medical educators as they identify learners' needs, and create early intervention programs. Her mentors include: Mill Etienne,

MD (AΩA, New York Medical College, 2017, Alumni), Vice Chancellor of Diversity and Inclusion at New York Medical College; Kelly L. Dore, PhD, Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine at McMaster University Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine; Rachel Salas, MD (AΩA, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, 2020, Faculty), Professor of Neurology and Nursing at The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, and 2021 A Ω A Fellow in Leadership; Edward Halperin, MD (A Ω A, Yale University School of Medicine, 1979), Chancellor and CEO of New York Medical College; and William H. Frishman (AQA, Albert Einstein College of Medicine/ Montefiore Medical Center, 1978, Faculty), Iota Chapter AΩA Councilor, Chair *Emeritus* of the Department of Medicine, and Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology at New York Medical College.