National and Chapter news

AΩA Board of Directors installs new members

he Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society recently welcomed three new members to its Board of Directors. The Board had a vacancy for one of its At-Large positions due to Dr. Brad Barth (A Ω A, University of Kansas School of Medicine, 1994) being named the new A Ω A Executive Director in December.

The Board also voted during its 2023 annual meeting in October to add two new positions to the Board – Resident Director, and *The Pharos* Representative.

All three of the seats were filled in February, and the three new members were in attendance for the Board's midyear meeting in April. The three new A Ω A Board members are:

At-Large Member



Carmen Green, MD (A Ω A, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine, 1989, Resident), is Dean of the City University of New York (CUNY) School of Medicine. She is a widely cited scholar and academic medicine physician in anesthesiology, pain management, and disparities in pain treatment and health care. She is a Professor Emerita in

Anesthesiology and OB/GYN, and academic leader from the University of Michigan School of Medicine. Dr. Green earned her MD from Michigan State University College of Human Medicine, and received her undergraduate degree in Biology from the University of Michigan-Flint.

Resident Director



Sky Dainty, MD (A Ω A, Meharry Medical College School of Medicine, 2019), is a resident physician in OB/GYN at Vanderbilt University. This summer, she will be relocating to Winston Salem, NC to do a fellowship in maternal fetal medicine at Wake Forest University. Dr. Dainty served previously on the A Ω A Board of Directors as a Student Director from 2019 – 2021.



The Pharos Representative Kenneth Ludmerer, MD

 $(A\Omega A, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, 1986, Faculty), is a Professor of Medicine, and the Mabel Dorn Reeder Distinguished Professor of the History of Medicine, in the Washington University School of Medicine in St.Louis, and Professor of History, Faculty of Arts and$

Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis. His honors include election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education of the Association of American Medical Colleges, and the Distinguished Alumnus Award of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He has been a member of *The Pharos* Editorial Board for more than 15 years.

2024 AΩA Fellows in Leadership

lpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is pleased to announce its 2024 Richard L. Byyny Fellows in Leadership.



Ganesh Asaithambi, MD, FAAN, FAHA ($A\Omega A$, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, 2020, Alumni), is the System Medical Director of the Stroke and Hospital Neurology Program at the Allina Health Neuroscience, Spine, and Pain Institute, Minneapolis, MN. He also serves as the medical director for two comprehensive stroke programs and is a medical officer

for the medical executive committee. He is a graduate of the combined BA/MD six-year degree program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. He has completed an Adult Neurology residency at the University of Minnesota and Vascular Neurology fellowship at the University of Florida.

Dr. Asaithambi's Fellow in Leadership experiential project focuses on developing a leadership consortium in the upper Midwest, thereby forging alliances, fostering collaborative endeavors, and establishing meaningful relationships. His mentors are Jay MacGregor, MD, MBA, FACS (A Ω A, University of North Dakota School of Medicine, 2010, Resident), former A Ω A Fellow in Leadership, Vice President of Medical Affairs, Allina Health; Sanjay Singh, MD (A Ω A, Creighton University School of Medicine, 2016, Faculty), President, Allina Health Neuroscience, Spine, and Pain Institute; and Hsieng Su, MD, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Executive, Allina Health.



Angela Brown, MD (AΩA,

Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, 2005, Alumni), is Vice Chair of Health Equity for the Department of Medicine and Professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology at Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine. She is Co-director of the Center for Community Health Partnership and Research within the Institute

of Clinical and Translational Sciences and Institute for Public Health, and directs the Section of Hypertension in the Cardiovascular Division. Dr. Brown is a past president of the American Heart Association St. Louis Metro Board of Directors and is a member of the American College of Physicians, the Association of Black Cardiologists, and the Mound City Medical Forum.

Dr. Brown's Fellow in Leadership experiential project focuses on utilizing community engagement principles to guide department of medicine culture change in diversity, equity, and inclusion. Her mentors are Victoria J. Fraser, MD (A Ω A, University of Missouri School of Medicine, 1982), Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine, and Chair of the Department of Medicine, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis; Will Ross, MD (A Ω A, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, 2002, Alumni), Associate Dean for Diversity, and Alumni Endowed Professor of Medicine in St. Louis; and Scott Markowitz, MD, inaugural Vice-Chair for Professional Development and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.



Sarah Tevis, MD ($A\Omega A$, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, 2010), an Associate Professor of Surgery and Breast Surgical Oncologist at the University of Colorado Diane O'Connor Thompson Breast Center. She completed her General Surgery Residency at the University of Wisconsin and Breast Surgical Oncology Fellowship at MD Anderson Cancer Center. She

cares for patients with breast cancer, benign breast disease, and those at high risk of developing breast cancer.

Dr. Tevis' Fellow in Leadership experiential project focuses on patient reported outcomes, shared decision making, and interventions to enhance quality of care through development and implementation of a clinical sexual health program for women with breast cancer. Her mentors are Simon Kim, MD (A Ω A, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science, 2004), Professor or Urologic Oncology at UCHealth Tony Grampsas Urologic Cancer Care Clinie, Anschutz Medical Campus; Dan Matlock, MD (A Ω A, University of Colorado School of Medicine, 2007, Resident), Geriatric Medicine, UCHealth Seniors Clinic, Anschutz Medical Campus; and Thomas M. Gronow, EdD, MHA, President and Chief Executive Officer, University of Colorado Hospital.