"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and Chapter News

Alpha Omega Alpha announces 2016 Fellow in Leadership Award recipients

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has announced the recipients of its 2016 Alpha Omega Alpha Fellow in Leadership Award. The three fellows were selected from a pool of highly qualified candidates from medical schools and institutions across the country. The three fellows are:

Brian Clyne, MD
Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Dr. Clyne (AΩA, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, 2016, Alumnus)serves as Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Emergency Medicine at The Alpert Medical School of Brown University. He completed his training in Emergency Medicine at the University of Maryland Medical Center/Shock Trauma Center where he served as chief resident. Following residency, Dr. Clyne returned to Brown where he has served in numerous educational roles and earned recognition for teaching excellence. He was the director of medical student education in Emergency Medicine prior to serving as residency program director from 2005-2013.

As Vice Chair, Dr. Clyne oversees and supports educational programs across the continuum of learners from undergraduates to faculty. He is co-director of the Medical Education Research Fellowship at Brown, and a founding member of the AMS Program in Educational Faculty Development. He has designed a master’s level leadership course for medical students at Alpert Medical School.

Nora Gimpel, MD
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Dr. Gimepl (AΩA, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, 2016, Faculty) is Chief of the Community Health Section at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. In the past 10 years, she has developed an infrastructure that provides trainees the opportunity to learn the principles of population medicine, community-based disease prevention, care of the underserved, and culturally appropriate approaches to health problems.

She has been directing numerous training programs to provide innovative service learning experiences to medical students, residents, fellows, and faculty to help improve the health of the underserved communities in Dallas. She has mentored pre- and postdoctoral trainees in community action research. accomplishments of this work have been published and presented nationally and internationally. She directs the four components Community Action Research Track (CART), Community Health Fellowship Program (CHFP), Community Action Research Experience (CARE), and Community Medicine Fellowship of the community action research training pipeline developed at the Division of Community Medicine in the Department of Family and Community Medicine. She has developed strong collaborative relationships throughout the academic and surrounding Dallas community. More than 30 community partners have participated in service learning opportunities with UTSW medical students, residents and fellows. She believes that interprofessional collaboration in education and practice will improve the quality of care provided, and will bring an opportunity to creatively address health disparities.

Susan Lane, MD
Stony Brook University School of Medicine

Dr. Lane (AΩA, Stony Brook University School of Medicine, 2011, Faculty) serves as program director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, and Vice Chair of Education for the Department of Medicine at Stony Brook Medicine in Long Island, New York. She received her B.A. from Amherst College in 1985, her M.D. from the University of Connecticut School of Medicine in 1993, and completed her internal medicine residency at Strong Memorial Hospital of the University of Rochester in 1996. Dr. Lane has practiced general internal medicine continuously since graduation, and has held leadership positions along the continuum of medical education, including clinic preceptor, clerkship director, program director, and vice chair of education. In addition to her role as a clinician educator, Dr. Lane has been a strong advocate for primary care medicine. She serves as Chair of the Advocacy Committee for the Alliance of Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) and Co-Chair of the AAIM GME Funding and Physician Work Force Task Force. Dr. Lane is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians (ACP), serves as the AAIM liaison to the ACP’s Health and Public Policy Committee, and is a regular participant in the annual ACP Leadership Day on Capitol Hill.

During her medical school training Dr. Lane had the unique opportunity to spend eight weeks in rural Haiti educating young women about safe birth practices. The experience of direct patient care in a resource-poor area had a lasting impact on her career choice as a primary care physician and her life-long dedication to populations with limited access to primary care. Last year, Dr. Lane was selected to mentor a Haitian clinician educator in a program jointly sponsored by AAIM and Partners for Health. Over email and skype, Dr. Lane and her mentee worked together to help build a curriculum for the residency program in Haiti, culminating in the clinician educator’s appointment as residency program director.

The fellows will each receive $25,000 to be used fund their respective leadership development projects. They will also receive coaching and mentorship from nationally renowned leaders in medicine to help them exemplify the qualities of leading from within, AΩA’s professional values, and the concepts of servant leadership.

Previous fellows have attributed this award to preparing them for career advancements, taking on more responsibility, and better advocating for their needs.

“I am very impressed with the quality of this year’s fellows,” says Richard L. Byyny, MD, FACP, Executive Director of Alpha Omega Alpha. “The AΩA Fellow in Leadership Award is a unique opportunity to support emerging physician leaders in their careers and give them new leadership opportunities in medicine. This group of fellows joins our six previous AOA Fellows in Leadership in becoming the next generation of leaders in medicine."

Front row, L to R: Susan Lane, MD; Nora Gimpel, MD; Dee Martinez; Kathi Becker. Middle cluster: Brian Clyne, MD; Alan Robinson, MD; Page Morahan, PhD; Richard Byyny, MD; Back row: Wiley Souba, MD; John Tooker, MD

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (AΩA)
Since its founding in 1902, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has recognized and advocated for excellence in scholarship, demonstrated professionalism, and the growth of physician leadership in the profession of medicine. Through 130 active chapters in the United States and Lebanon, more than 3,600 new members are inducted into the society each year. More than 55 Nobel Prize winners are members of Alpha Omega Alpha, as well as 11 of the 19 United States Surgeons General, including Dr. Vivek Murthy. Nearly 75% of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AΩA. Alpha Omega Alpha annually grants more than $1.5 million in programs and awards to impact medical students, residents, teachers, and community physicians.

Updated on August 28, 2017.